Episcopal Diocese of Virginia
The Episcopal Church »  |  The Diocese of Virginia

Progress Pride Flag Colors


What The Progress Pride Flag Colors Mean

 Pride Progress FlagThe flag is called the Progress Pride Flag.  Since its creation in 2018, it's slowly being embraced by the LGBTQ community as a newer, more inclusive symbol of pride.

LGBTQ is the acronym for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer. The Q generally stands for queer when LGBTQ organizations, leaders, and media use the acronym. In other settings, it can also stand for questioning.  

The Progress Pride flag features eleven colors: red, orange, yellow, green, indigo, violet, white, pink, blue, brown, and black. The white, pink, and light blue chevron design on the Progress Pride Flag represents transgender and non-binary individuals, while the brown and black stripes represent marginalized people of color. The black stripe has a dual meaning. It also honors those lost to HIV/AIDS and is a nod to the stigma surrounding those still living with HIV. The chevron shape resembles an arrow pointing forward, indicating our collective journey toward progress. Its placement of the left side of the original rainbow flag indicates that progress still needs to be made for the represented communities.

St. John's Welcomes Rev. Julie Bryant
« previous
St. John's New Signage
next »